top of page

Cecilia Lalrammawii: The Soulful Singer


The warm musical wind swept through for summer melodic indulgence is what best describes Cecilia Lalrammawii’s angelic voice that swoops and soars dynamically and then glides down softly like a bird. Cecilia grew up in Mizoram surrounded by heavy musical influence and later moved to Mangalore for college where she embarked on an improvisational adventure of melody and live performances. Her “Via Dolorosa” cover on YouTube highlights her lush voice that evokes the serenity and beauty of rich cultural diversity. Striding boldly into wilder musical landscapes, Cecilia moved back to Mizoram where she performs gigs frequently for a good cause complemented by her songwriting and her passion for making a difference. I recently had the opportunity to chat with the eclectic singer/songwriter, exuberating vibrancy in the land of lush cultural heritage.

Let’s start with your background. When did you start singing?

Music has always been a passion and I’ve always aspired to sing proficiently. According to my mother, I started humming even before I learned how to speak but started singing by the age of 3. Music has been the greatest bounty and my love for it has always been consistent. I started performing on stage by the age of 6 and it was one of those instances that made me realize my true love for singing.

Have you always been driven to pursue music since childhood?

I’ve always been driven to pursue music and I’m extremely grateful for my family for their endless support. I used to attend vocal training sessions when I was 12 with my sister for a few months but we had to quit since the distance and the time conflicted with our routine. The unfavorable circumstance was disappointing initially but it certainly didn’t make me give up on my dreams. Thanks for the support and encouragement I received, I worked hard on improvising and training myself to broaden my vocal horizons.

Growing up, did you have a musical inspiration that you looked up to?

I admire various genres and I’m a faithful listener when it comes to appreciating the music of diversity. Growing up, I would say I was hugely inspired by Elton John, Queen and singer Freddie Mercury. His 5-octave range and his ability to jump from one end to the other effortlessly, without having a strain on his voice always fascinated me. The song “Bohemian Rhapsody” was expressive, delicately energetic and it has to be one of my all-time favorites.

What instilled exceptional confidence in you when it comes to performing in public?

Growing up in Mizoram, I was provided with ample singing opportunities that helped me overcome my stage fear. I was a victim of bullying in school because I was an introvert, but this one day when I performed on stage for a competition, my bullies appreciated me for the very first time. This made me embrace singing with confidence because it could change their behavior towards me. I also would credit my confidence to the St Aloysius College in Mangalore, where we had this beautiful event called “Musical Evening”. It’s a wonderful opportunity for all the aspiring singers and musicians to display their talent by performing on the main stage by the entire college and it undoubtedly improved me as a singer and instilled the confidence in me to perform before a large crowd. I recall practicing, by singing dramatic duets with my roommate during study hours and it has to be one my favorite memories (laughs).

Which musicians and songwriters have been the greatest influence on your lyrics?

Bob Marley heavily influenced me and I see him as a legendary singer/songwriter who penned lyrics that encompasses raw depth and emotions. His unique voice and powerful lyrics command attention to an extent that I refrain from singing along, just so I can listen to his voice. Amongst the wave of current singer/songwriters, I adore Demi Lovato and her ability to convey emotions through her strong vocals and lyrics. She is undeniably one of the most inspiring women in entertainment who uses her superstar platform for creativity and motivation and I’m tremendously inspired by her.

Describe your creative process songwriting process. Do you first start with the lyrics, melody, chord progression, or something else?

To write a song, it’s highly important to feel the emotion. The songs I write contain a reflection of my sentiments and I write them to vent out my thoughts. From raw emotions to guilt, remorse, grief, contentment to lingering joy, I write songs to express my emotions. It helps me overcome tough times and the engaging creative process somehow eliminates the negative energy. I start with lyrics first and then work on the tune and leave room for improvisation.

What motivates and inspires you as an artist?

My mother has constantly motivated me and in Mizoram, a lot of importance is given to music. My mother always admired the singing ability but unfortunately, she couldn’t sing, so she always hoped that her children would be blessed with the ability. The courage and motivation she instills in me make me extremely confident and I like to see her beam with pride when I perform. Whenever I feel down, music uplifts me and comforts me, making me never want to give up.

What do you think about the internet as a tool for promoting yourself & your music?

The Internet is an extraordinary place which is one of the greatest advantages of the 21st century. You don’t have to invest a lot in the process of recording videos. All you need is a smartphone and data to share your videos that can instantly reach out to a large number of people. With your friends, family, and followers viewing your videos, sharing has never been easier. I constantly share my singing videos on Instagram and I receive a lot of feedbacks, which is incredible! Singing Reality Show “The Stage” season 2 runners up Abhishek Gurung recently contacted me after watching one of my videos and encouraged me to participate in the competition. I’m considering the online audition now, and I think it’s all possible thanks to the power of social media.

What is one major tip that any vocalist should keep in mind?

When you’re performing on stage, you just have to feel your music and not care about what others may think of you. It’s okay to be nervous but it’s not okay to sing mechanically without any emotion. Sing wherever you are; could be your washroom or bedroom, but the agenda is to practice because the more you sing, the more you improve.

What are your plans & hopes for the future with regard to your music?

My plans are pretty big for music this year and I’m still contemplating my participation in “The Stage”. Abhishek Gurung picked songs for me to practice and I’m highly motivated. There are numerous opportunities in Mizoram and I will be performing a live concert in Mizoram in the month of July. I’m a member of Jailbreak Ministry- an organization formed by singers and celebrities of Mizoram that involves performing therapeutic and entertaining music for prisoners. We visit different jails and perform, which is definitely a transformative experience for prisoners and players alike. I’m also a member of Project Praise- a gospel initiative that involves performing live in various destinations for a good cause. Besides that there are several gigs I’m currently preparing for, so, for now, I’ll go with the flow and grab every opportunity that comes in the way.

bottom of page