top of page

Lavina, The Nomadic Female Traveler


Female, Fierce, Fabulous and Fearless are just some words that can be used to describe Lavina. Brought up in Mangalore, she loves traveling to different destinations in India and chronicles them in her memory. Early imagination and curiosity to witness various colors, landscapes, people and cultures of India influenced her compelling desire for traveling and knowledge which generated the desire of feeling free, a sensation satisfied by wanderlust. Being a Bachelor’s of Science graduate from St Aloysius College, Mangalore and an active volunteer for various environmental causes, she narrates her traveling experiences subtly as she also comes across a reality that there is a thick thread of diversity that goes beyond the boundaries of culture and stitches us all together in one colorful garment called humanity. I recently had the opportunity to chat with the energetic female traveler who is always ready to embark on a new adventure in the beautiful land of contrasts and lush culture.

What was it about your first trip that inspired you to do more?

To be very specific, I started traveling when I was little and growing up in different environments was a collective experience that evolved and inspired me to explore more. I spent my childhood in Harwada, a beautiful town located on the outskirts of Karnataka and en route Goa. I was always drawn towards nature, tribal people, and the simple pleasures the town had to offer. Encountering tribal people and learning about their culture, food, beautiful clothes, accessories and more, wildly fascinated me. I traveled a lot as a child with my family members and every place led to excitement and endless learning. I’m an extremely curious person with a thirst for knowledge which gets quenched upon traveling as I immerse myself in learning more about different cultures, languages, etiquettes and seek the ultimate state of peace and happiness.

What was your family’s reaction to your interest in traveling?

My parents initially reminded me how I was supposed to be in a protected environment and set limits being a girl. I made the most out of my stay in Mangalore by exploring as much as I could, starting out with little picnic expeditions with my friends. I’m terrible with directions though, but Google Maps has always been my savior. Knowing where you’re going is extremely important, especially figuring out the easiest and the safest way to get back home. I would always find myself in jungles and mountains, and then figure out my way to ponds, streams, and the beautiful creations in its rawest form. I would wake up around 6 to watch the sunrise. I’m trained in Martial Arts and it provided me a great sense of self-confidence with self-defence in my stride. My parents noticed my craze for this and being travelers themselves, they had a soft corner for me and my many expeditions. They obviously want me to be careful as my safety comes first, but they also believe in the fact that traveling shapes me into an independent being as it carves the path for self-discovery.

Describe one of your best traveling experiences.

I can’t be too specific because every destination has something special to offer. I embrace a whole new part of me when I travel because each place rewards you a chunk of life-changing experience. The one place I’ve witnessed a hundred years of peace and serenity was Alappuzha in Kerala. I felt like I was sleeping on the lap of heaven because of the magical aura spread in the air. I dipped my feet in the waters and I felt alive, wholesome and rejuvenated. Your eyes will never tire of feasting on the green shores on both sides, throbbing with pure natural beauty. The soft sunlit water enchants you as the palm trees on both shores beckon you with gentle whispers in the wind. You know in your soul that this magnificent sight will remain with you for the rest of your life. There’s a huge difference between travelers and visitors. Travelers feel the place by absorbing the simplest pleasures offered by nature and blend in the vibe. Visitors travel to click pictures, sans the intention to explore for their piece of mind, not realizing that nature is more colorful than pictures.

How do you manage your budget before you travel?

My parents always encouraged me to earn through your own sources by using your talents. It’s not very easy finding jobs, but there were numerous opportunities that reward efforts, like live performances. When I was younger, I would dance in events and competitions, and the money awarded was happily spent on picnics. I used to participate in a lot of tournaments that took place in different venues, and my parents would instruct me on how to go about with it. They would encourage me to explore places by myself by figuring out how to travel catching the bus, setting a fixed budget. They knew I was bold and confident to figure out routes and trusted my capabilities. Lately, my only source has been my shows since I emcee in various events and tutor students. I save up around rupees 2000-3000 for my traveling expeditions and I strictly stick to it. It’s easy traveling as long as you know how to manage your budget. You can have a luxurious trip if you plan it all out efficiently. I recommend traveling to cherish the luxury of the landscape, rather than relishing lavish services with continental cuisines. I believe people should enjoy the local cuisines, basic modes of transportation and simplicity presented by these beautiful vistas.

What are the top 5 essentials in your Backpack before any tour?

It’s essential to have a strong and durable backpack. I’ve learned a lot of tricks to compress and pack things up, so it doesn’t necessarily take up a lot of space. First, it’s vital to carry your toiletries as personal hygiene always comes first. I figured clothes always take up a lot of space, and I’ve seen a lot of people trying to pack their entire wardrobe for a small trip. I carry limited clothes, mostly being comfortable, maintaining a healthy ratio of more shirts over pants. You carry clothes based on the occasion and I decide according to the weather or the environment. It’s essential to carry a lot of undergarments, and I like to carry limited clothes so I can accommodate souvenirs from my tours. Besides toiletries and clothes, I carry my sanitizer, an extra pair of slippers, and my bottle of soap bubbles. Blowing bubbles brings whimsical fun to any atmosphere, especially when there's a breeze to carry them high into the sky. Constantly traveling to other states within India, you must experience multiple different cultures and lifestyles.

What has been the most exciting destination for you?

I’m so lucky to be born in India, and I want to explore every single state and not miss out on anything. If you are someone who likes to pick up a backpack and take off on an expedition without wanting to spend a lot of money, India is your paradise. Backpacking in India could be the most enriching experience of your life. From rustic villages in deserts to hidden settlements in mountains, from exotic temple-towns by the beach to spiritual lands in the hills, India has everything that a traveler can ever wish for. My journey to Sikkim has been one of the most energetic and refreshing experiences with breathtaking landscapes and rich culture. There's something very soothing to the soul about the mountainous beauty, the rivers and the aroma of the forest. The vibe, food, people, and culture seemed angelic to me, exuberating with serenity and beauty. Even though I couldn’t understand the language, I was instantly mesmerized by the music and lyrics, and it was absolutely mystical.

Where would you like to travel again and name a place you have you never been that you would love to go?

Every state has its own magic and I seek to engross myself in culture. I’ve been to West Bengal but I feel like I haven’t explored as much as I could. The state is magnetic in all forms with colors, literature, arts, culture, cuisines, and heritage that it represents. With colorful and vibrant festivals, the state is jeweled with mesmerizing landscapes, gushing sea, blossoming tea gardens, huge deltas, lush green forests, plentiful wildlife, ancient temple and magnificent British monuments. The sweet spoken people with huge bindis, expressive eyes, traditional attires and a common love for food demonstrate beauty in its rarest form. I really want to explore the seven sisters, Meghalaya being the first in my wish-list. I was always fascinated by the lush green landscapes and picturesque surroundings and I can’t wait to experience it by myself.

While traveling to other states, how do you get around and communicate? Are you familiar with multiple languages?

I can grasp languages easily and I think it’s a boon. I pay attention to every intricate detail which makes it easier to figure out what’s being spoken. Hindi being the root of most languages in India, I find myself conversing and learning a lot in that process. Every language has its beauty and it’s important to listen carefully to grasp, and that’s how a traveler blends in. I know around 10 regional languages and I’m planning to learn foreign languages in the future, but for now, I’m focusing on India because this is the one place I truly want to be.

Where do you look for inspiration?

I get inspired by fellow travelers and I happen to meet a lot of foreigners who travel frequently. They travel to reboot and embark upon a journey of self-discovery. I’ve encountered people who quit jobs to immerse themselves in traveling bliss as there is no country which encapsulates diversity so perfectly. They can tell you a lot of stories, beautiful and bitter ones, but it’s important to experience everything by making your trip a part of who you are. The inspiration comes from experiencing beauty, peace as well as chaos; there are quirks and subtle nuances in every city that brings the most heartfelt smile on faces.

What message would you most want to deliver to encourage traveling within India?

I think traveling is something that comes from within. You can always go to a new location, but it’s essential to keep your mind empty. You need to have a lot of space in your mind to absorb and accommodate new things, so don’t look at a place as an outsider. All you need is desire and movement. The more you move, the more you see, and the more you travel, the more people you meet. It’s all about the smiles and stories to tell. It just requires some self-motivation to get off your bed, book your main source of transportation and explore to your heart’s content. You don’t have to travel to just post pictures of it on social media. Travel for your mind and yourself. Go to places because you want to experience the beautiful landscapes, skylines and the serenity of nature that somehow clarifies how you want your life to be. Visit places to witness how sun rise can look better in different destinations. Feel the beauty of diversity and cherish it, and that’s when you know you’re living right.

bottom of page